Another project for another day.

I have too many home projects going on right now! I have yet to finish the trim on the window I just installed, I didn’t get any of the work done last Sunday that I wanted to, I bought a new celing fan to install in my living room (and my living room doesn’t have a fixture for it), I need to get my old concrete dumped, this Friday Our landscape department manager, Greg, is going to help me layout my sprinkler system for the lawn I want to get installed this summer, In the next week or two my uncle is going to help me set the forms for my new patio that I want poured sometime in the next month, I still need to install new carpet in my living room and front bedroom, I want to install a new front door, I need to paint my shed…

I don’t even want to mention the kitchen or bathroom…

but, inspite of all that I can still find more projects that I want/need to do, like these two electrical projects:

http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/knowhow/electrical/article/0,16417,562098-5,00.html
4: Too Few OutletsWhat it means: Heavy reliance on extension cords and power strips.Code violation? No; grandfathered in. (Today’s codes require receptacles within 4 feet of a doorway and every 12 feet thereafter.) Danger level: Minimal, as long as you use heavy-duty extension cords, 14-gauge or thicker. (The thicker the wire, the lower the gauge number.) Undersize extension cords (16-gauge or smaller) can overheat and ignite a fire if loads are too heavy. Solution: Add more outlets. Expect to pay an electrician about $100 per first-floor outlet and double that for second-floor work. (There will likely be a minimum charge.) This work requires cutting holes in walls and ceilings to snake the wires. Some electricians will patch the holes; others leave the patching to you.

and

http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/knowhow/electrical/article/0,16417,562098-6,00.html
5: No GFCIsWhat it means: Increased risk of electrocution in wet areas, such as baths and kitchens. GFCIs (ground-fault circuit interrupters) shut down circuits in 4 milliseconds, before current can cause a deadly shock.Code violation? No; grandfathered in. (Codes today require GFCIs within 4 feet of any sink and on all garage, basement, and outdoor outlets.)Danger level: High.Solution: Replace old receptacles with GFCIs (about $12 each). This is a simple job that many homeowners do themselves. Electricians charge about $20 per outlet. (There will likely be a minimum job charge.) Note: As an alternative, GFCI breakers ($25) can be installed on the main panel. But then every time one trips, you have to go down to the basement to reset it.

Leave a Reply

