Turn a $60 wireless router into a $600 wireless router!

How come I never knew about this????

*This post is for Computer Dorks only*

I have my little trusty Linksys wireless router sitting by my computer sharing my connection to my laptop and Christi’s computer. It does its intended purpose well, however I just found out that it can do a WHOLE LOT MORE! You can install linux on it and configure it as if it were a $600 router. Here is a link to the firmware you can use to complete this upgrade for the WRT54G. Once school gets out next week I’ll spend a little time fooling around with it to see if I can turn it into a VPN server, that would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

