King Kong – A Tragedy

About a month ago Christi and I got two free movie tickets through Albertsons. We used them last night to go see King Kong.


If I were to describe the movie in one word it would be ‘overwhelming’ and ‘fantastic’ would be a close second.
Yeah, it was long (180 minutes) but like Peter Jackson’s last movie, Lord of the Rings, it was directed so well that the length didn’t seem to be an issue. IMO it just added to the depth of the story to make it more involving. It has been a long time since I saw the original but from what I remember, comparing the two, this one seemed to spend a lot more time on Skull Island than the original one, proportionally. Which is a good thing. From what i remember of the old one was that the first half of the movie was good and the second half was boring. The first half being on Skull Island and the second half being in New York, of course I was probably 10 years old or younger and my attention span was about as long as … Um… Something really short…

Despite the fact that this movie was completely stunning, there were some parts in the beginning that seemed overly dramatic, probably due to the fact that we didn’t really know the characters that well to have deep feelings for. It felt kinda odd to me, but I also missed the first 10 minutes of the movie since nature was calling. But that’s just my opinion, those parts may be more meaningful when rewatching it thus adding to the movies longevity.

Now I don’t want to give away too much, but there was one part that I remember from the original that I was hoping would be reproduced in this remake, how Kong killed the T-Rex! Thankfully Peter Jackson didn’t disappoint!

Before Christi and I went to see it I told her that she would cry, she didn’t believe me. She also didn’t believe me when I told her the movie was 3 hours long. Sufficed to say, she cried for almost the last 40 minutes of the movie and 10 minutes before the movie ended, since she knew how it was going to end, couldn’t watch anymore so she waited in the lobby for me. She just seems to have a thing for big hairy animals… *wink-wink*
Of course, she also has cried each of the four times we’ve watched the movie Elf. So assuming she was going to cry while watching King Kong was a no-brainier.
But I’m glad she sat through as much as she did, I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much if i had to watch the last half by myself. Love ya toots 😉

Leave a Reply

