Using Virtual Server

Microsoft has given me one of the coolest programs I've used in a long time!

A few months ago I read on one of the Microsoft blogs that they were accepting people to sign up to beta test the new Microsoft Virtual Server 2005 R2. I signed up and downloaded the beta. It took them a couple of days to approve me. After installing it I played around with it but couldn't figure out how to install an operating system on it. That was durring school so I gave up on trying to figure it out fairly quickly.
a month later I got an email saying that they were done beta testing and since I was a beta tester they were going to give me a complementary copy! I had to wait a few weeks for the instructions on how to download.

I just built my new pc, so I'm currently in the process of getting it updated and configured how I want it. This weekend I installed my copy of virtual server 2005 and spent a little time figuring out how it works. Its supprizingly easy once you 'get it'. So far i've installed Windows server 2003 and windows advanced server 2000 just to see how it works. I'm still learning the in's and outs of the program but so far i have installed my visual studio express programs and file sharing program, Shareaza, to run from win2k AS.

Using Virtual Server

Leave a Reply

