What I want to be when I grow up (In 6 months)

I have a lot of time to kill while at work, so recently I have been looking up job descriptions and salaries for system analysts (aka Systems Business Analysts) and found this really good description of what the job entails. Here are a few choice quotes:

Computer systems analysts start their work by asking people what they need their computers to do. Then, they plan a computer system that can do those tasks well. A system can include many computers working together and different types of software and tools.

Here are some other excerpts from the article.

In 2004, the middle half of these workers earned between $52,400 and $82,980. The lowest-paid 10 percent earned less than $41,730. The highest-paid 10 percent earned more than $99,180.

In 2004, there were 487,000 computer systems analysts. Many worked for computer consulting companies. About 28,000 were self-employed. They often moved from place to place working on different projects. Analysts also worked for governments, universities, Internet companies, and financial institutions.

The number of computer systems analysts is expected to grow much faster than average between 2004 and 2014. People with proper training should have good job prospects.
Those who have college degrees in business and courses related to computers also should be able to find jobs in this field.
New jobs are expected as more businesses try to use computers well. New Internet and wireless technologies are also expected to create more jobs because people will need to learn how to use these tools.

This is the career path I want to move in. My internship at the DMV should be an excellent resume builder to get me in on the ground floor with a company like EDS, CGI-AMS, or even with the State.

I plan on getting my projects, school deliverable's, and personal projects and organizing them into a portfolio after Christi and I get back from Disneyland. I also really need to start practicing what I've learned in MIS 160 and what I will learn in MIS 161 here at the DMV to help build up my resume even more!

Leave a Reply

