Quotes from Marcus Tullius Cicero

Here are some quotes for you to think about.

I am not ashamed to confess that I am ignorant of what I do not know.

If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.

If we are not ashamed to think it, we should not be ashamed to say it.

If you pursue good with labor, the labor passes away but the good remains; if you pursue evil with pleasure, the pleasure passes away and the evil remains.
In a republic this rule ought to be observed: that the majority should not have the predominant power.

Let us not listen to those who think we ought to be angry with our enemies, and who believe this to be great and manly. Nothing is so praiseworthy, nothing so clearly shows a great and noble soul, as clemency and readiness to forgive.

The First Bond of Society is Marriage.

Everyone has the obligation to ponder well his own specific traits of character. He must also regulate them adequately and not wonder whether someone else’s traits might suit him better. The more definitely his own a man’s character is, the better it fits him.
The name of peace is sweet, and the thing itself is beneficial, but there is a great difference between peace and servitude. Peace is freedom in tranquillity, servitude is the worst of all evils, to be resisted not only by war, but even by death.

Cicero

Roman author, orator, & politician (106 BC – 43 BC)

One thought on “Quotes from Marcus Tullius Cicero

  1. Cool blog. I found you via my own blog by clicking “Next.” I haven’t read any Cicero yet but I did read through your quotations of him and now I’m looking forward to reading him. “If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.” is my favorite. Btw, if I might make a suggestion, my favorite part of going to other blogs is to read the “About Me” section but you haven’t filled yours in yet. I’m sure there are many people out there who would love to know more about you!

    ~ FR

Leave a Reply

