History of The Earth Measured With A Ruler.

This is something I’ve been meaning to post for a while. It has to do with my Anthropology class I took over the summer. While this was only a small side discussion in the class, it still grabed my interest. When studying the history of the earth people usually reference what is know as the geological time scale (GTS). The GTS is broken into four eons, each eon is broken into multiple eras, and each era is broken into multiple periods.

Before this I’ve never really given much thought to the history of the earth, nor what the spans of time were for past events. Once I started looking into the details of the GTS I was amazed at how long the time span was from the begining of the earth to when dinosarus first apeared. I also started to realize how much time 4.5 billion years is. If someone asked me, before I looked at the GTS, what the history of the earth is I probably would have replied: Well, the earth formed, small animals came out of the water and turned into dinosaurs, one large contenent broke into many, dinosaurs died, then people apeared. That would pretty much sum up my high school education of the history of the earth.

After doing some preleminary research I wanted to, somehow, convert the history of the earth into a measurement that I could grasp. So I tried converting the time periods into measurements on a standard ruler. It turned out pretty good. I then had the ambition to create an electronic version of these measurements so I could post them on my blog, it took me a while but I finally took the time to finish it today. Now the measurements may not be 100% accurate but, hey… whats a few million years between friends, right? Its ok, because scientists still argue about the exact dates anyways.

So without further ado here it is, The History of the Earth. Measured on a 12 Inch Ruler!

The History of the Earth. Measured on a 12 Inch Ruler!

P.S. This isn’t meant to be a topic regarding if this is true or not (young earth vs old earth), simply me facinated with how scientists currently measure the history of the earth, with todays tools and methodologies.

References:

http://www.geo.ucalgary.ca/~macrae/timescale/timescale.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geologic_Time_Scale

2 thoughts on “History of The Earth Measured With A Ruler.

  1. Very interesting, i never thought we were so… young! I have to admit that my view of the formation of the earth and the ensuiying life was also like this: “Well, the earth formed, small animals came out of the water and turned into dinosaurs, one large contenent broke into many, dinosaurs died, then people apeared.”

  2. Pingback: Giant Rat Skull Found « I’m Unique, Like Everybody Else.

Leave a Reply

